Japanese Commission Project

May 22, 2019



I’m very excited to be leading a commissioning consortium of six Japanese composers to each write a new work for the contemporary saxophone repertoire! The commissioned composers are from diverse backgrounds, write in a wide array of styles, and represent the next generation of Japanese composition. They will each write a new 4-7 minute solo work (electronic/piano accompaniment or unaccompanied) for any saxophone that they wish. Joininrg is ¥6000 (about $54 USD) - that’s less than $10 per piece! Please consider supporting these composers and this project.


このコンソーシアムはサックスの現代作品のレパートリーのための、6つの新しく独創的な作品を生み出すことを目的としている。作品を委嘱された 6人の作曲家は、それぞれ多様で幅広いスタイルを展開しており、日本で活躍し、あるいは日本において高度な音楽教育を受けている。それぞれの作曲家は、新しい4〜8分のソロ作品(電子音響、ピアノ伴奏または伴奏なし)をこの共同プロジェクトのために作曲する。プロジェクトのウェブサイトを見てくだい。


To join or for more information: https://www.nathanmertens.com/japan-commission




Please reload

Featured Posts

Moving to Japan!!

January 24, 2017

Please reload

Recent Posts

June 27, 2020

February 8, 2020

January 22, 2020

October 29, 2019

Please reload

Search By Tags
Please reload

  • Wix Facebook page
  • 2000px-Youtube_icon.svg.png
  • SoundCloud App Icon
  • Wix Twitter page
  • Instagram App Icon
  • LinkedIn App Icon

© 2020 Nathan Mertens.