American saxophonist, Nathan Mertens (he/him/his) has recently performed recitals in Japan, South Korea, Thailand, the United Kingdom, and throughout the United States. Mertens has performed concertos with the Busan Philharmonic Orchestra (Korea), Hastings Symphony Orchestra (US), The University of Texas Symphony Orchestra (US), and was recently a concerto soloist at the North American Saxophone Alliance Conference. In competition, he has been awarded Third Prize in the 14th Kurashiki International Saxophone Competition, Second Grand Prize in the North International Music Competition in Sweden, and has been a finalist for many national competitions.


As an advocate for new music, Mertens has commissioned and premiered works by Andrew Boss, Rob Buckland, Zach Browning, Lucy Armstrong, and Russell Podgorsek. He has premiered these works with many diverse ensemble across the globe at the World Saxophone Congress, North American Saxophone Alliance Conference, and other concert venues.


Previously, Mertens was in Tokyo, Japan as a Monbukagakusho Research Scholarship recipient with the Japanese Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology where he studied with Masato Kumoi at Kunitachi College of Music. As such, Mertens was the first American Saxophonist to formally study in Japan. While in Japan, he performed with the Kunitachi Saxophone Ensemble, the Japan Saxophone Orchestra, Marie Kikuchi, and Emi Kondo. 

Mertens graduated from The University of Texas at Austin - Butler School of Music with his Doctor of Music Arts degree in Saxophone Performance while studying with Dr. Stephen Page.  He also received his Master’s degree at The University of Texas and did additional work at the Université Européenne de Saxophone in Gap, France. He completed his undergraduate work at Hastings College in Nebraska, with Debra McKim-Rhodes, graduating magna cum laude with degrees in Saxophone Performance and Woodwind Pedagogy.


He is currently on faculty at Hastings College in Nebraska and has previously taught at Saxophone Academy Austin, Longhorn Music Camp, and The University of Texas at Austin.


He plays exclusively on Yamaha saxophones and D’Addario Woodwind products.

ネブラスカ州ヘイスティングス大学卒業。テキサス大学大学院にて修士号を取得、同大学院にて博士号を取得。これまでにソリストとして釜山オーケストラ(韓国)、ヘイスティングスオーケストラ(米国)、テキサス大学オーケストラ(米国)と共演。 GAP講習会(フランス)に参加、優秀者として選抜されコンサートに出演。第14回くらしき国際サクソフォーンコンクール第3位受賞。北国際音楽コンクール(スウェーデン) 第2位受賞。北米サクソフォン・アライアンス・ソロコンクール、アラパホ・フィルハーモニーコンチェルトコンクール、イースタン・コネチカットシンフォニー・インストゥルメンタルコンクール、コーダレーン・シンフォニー・オーケストラ・ヤング・アーティストコンクールファイナリスト受賞。




Alto Saxophone

YAS-875EX with a Dolce Japan Original GP V1 Neck 

Selmer S90 190 Mouthpiece

Momo Ligature - Gold Plated

D'Addario Reserve 3.0 Reeds

Tenor Saxophone

YTS-875EX with a Dolce Japan Original GP V1 Neck 

Vandoren T-20 Mouthpiece

Ishimori Ligature - Gold Plated

D'Addario Reserve 3.0 Reeds

Performing Jacque Ibert's "Concertino da Camera" with the Busan Philharmonic Orchestra (Korea) with maestro Jose Flores conducting

Performing John William's "Escapades" with the Hastings Symphony Orchestra, Byron Jensen conducting

Performing Henri Tomasi's "Concerto for Alto Saxophone and Orchestra" with the University of Texas Symphony Orchestra with James Welsch conducting

  • Wix Facebook page
  • 2000px-Youtube_icon.svg.png
  • SoundCloud App Icon
  • Wix Twitter page
  • Instagram App Icon
  • LinkedIn App Icon

© 2020 Nathan Mertens.